Archaeological research of St. Francis Xavier Church in Kaunas

Address: Kauno m. sav., Kauno m., Rotušės a. 7, 8, 9

During the installation of underfloor heating in the church in 1991, archaeological research was conducted as well. The research indicated that the remains of the previous buildings were adapted for the church. Earlier there had been two stone buildings in this location and judging from the remaining foundation and cellars the buildings were nearly 35 metres long and 8.4 metres and 9.5 metres wide, and most probably had two floors. The walls and foundation of these buildings were used in the construction of the church. In 1666-1722 the old foundation was adapted and the cellars established under the presbytery and the side naves. After the fire of 1732, in which the church was partially destroyed, there were visible signs of fire and destruction. During the second stage of construction (1722-1759) the cellar premises of the right nave were altered, the piers of the church were reconstructed and a new cellar was equipped under the presbytery. In 1761-1768 in the eastern part of the territory a new two-floor monastery was constructed instead of the two residential buildings.  

Mindaugas Bertašius